A Few of the Things I love

Image

 

Not too long ago, I was driving from my hometown back to Los Angeles when I realized that I was smiling. For no reason, my facial muscles held this pose firm somewhere on the interstate where the 405 and the 5 freeways meet. Ear to ear, I thought “what on earth am I so happy about?!”

This was no coincidence. In that moment, I realized I am absolutely in love with this life I have been creating for myself. The millions of things I have finally opened my heart and eyes to see have paved an entrance for happiness. Life has been so good to me. God has been so good to me. Below is my attempt to express some of the things I love and that I feel have contributed to my overall growth and happiness.

  • A warm sunny day with a night that has a frosty bite.
  • The expression on a humans face as their emotions change and their brain begins to process it.
  • The feeling of exhaustion after a good workout.
  • Sitting in silence until even I am uncomfortable with myself.
  • Everyone of the keystone people in my life.
  • The blissful moment when for just a second, you believe that you are absolutely capable.
  • Winter, summer, spring, and fall sunsets. Sunsets.
  • Greeting people with a warm hug instead of a formal handshake.
  • The sound of cork being extracted from a wine bottle for the first time.
  • Hostels
  • Elephants
  • Random acts of kindness
  • Hummingbirds
  • Music that makes my body tingle, my heart sing, and causes my brain to feel.
  • Any meal that is had sitting down at the kitchen table with good company.

Now this is just a small list. Some of the things that in that moment I truly loved. Now imagine if every time I realized that I was happy, I wrote down those reasons. Imagine if you do it. Imagine that once a day you write down one thing you loved about that day. Collect that over time and you’ve got yourself a full list of all the things you love. That right there is a good reason to LOOK UP and say thank you.

xoxo,

-ADV

 

Leave a comment